First United Methodist Church has many opportunities for people to get involved with those who share similar interests and want to serve God. Browse through the groups listed on this page and find one that suits you!

Christmas Program

First Church has an annual Christmas program in December. If you would like to be a part of this exciting children’s ministry at a very special time of year, contact the church office at 319-334-3689.

Pastor’s Study Groups

Pastor Paul has regular study groups throughout the year. There is currently a Bible study for adults Sunday mornings at 10:15am.

Tech Fund

We have an option to sponsor a Sunday each week for our Tech Fund.  This is to help keep our tech equipment updated.  It is $30 to sponsor a Sunday, and you can make it in honor or in memory of someone, or even to celebrate a birthday or anniversary . If you are interested in sponsoring a Sunday, please contact the office.  Email or call 319-334-3689.

U.W.F. (United Women in Faith)

United Women in Faith was previously known as the U.M.W. (United Methodist Women.)

The purpose for the UWF:
    United Women in Faith seeks to connect and nurture women through Christian Spiritual formation, leadership development, creative fellowship, and education so that they can inspire, influence and impact local and global communities.

Unit meetings are held three times a year. (April, October, and December)  We have three circle groups that meet at different times.  (Morning, Afternoon, and Evening).  Contact the church office for meeting time and location.


Staff-Parish Relations Committee
Deb Ehlers- chair
Brad Bagby, Alan Bowers, Jerry Franz, Brenda Greiner, Shelly Martin

Trustee Committee
Harold Freeman- chair
Sandy Brown, Mike Denton, Jerry Earles, Rick Greiner, Amy McGraw, Sara Wilson

Finance Committee
Carole Franz – chair
Jim Bond, Bonita Davis, Greg Fletcher, Lucas Gray, Brenda Ristvedt, Korey Wilson
Ex-Officio: Chris Smith

Mission Committee
Jan Benson- Chair
Wanita Burns, Deb Denton, Carol Fisher, Lillian Penne, Joe Steckelberg, Jeanne Wiggins

Education Committee
Sarah Rothman – Chair
Joye Bowers, Heidi Shannon

Memorial Committee
Marilyn Freeman – Chair
Miriam Smith- vice chair
Erma Booth, Diane Gelhaus, Janet Larson

Nomination Committee
Sandy Brown, Dave Hand, Karyl Hand, Nancy Steckelberg

Foundation Committee
Jerry Earles -chair
Wayne Burk, Terry Toale, Marie Wegner, Mark White, Shelly Whited

Pastor:  Paul Evans, Trustee Chairperson: Harold Freeman , UWF President: Nancy Steckelberg    Treasurer:  Chris Smith

Administrative Council
Chairperson: Nancy Steckelberg, Trustee Chair: Harold Freeman, Lay Member to Annual Conference:  Joe Steckelberg,  Nancy Steckelberg

Communion Stewards
Katie Schellhorn, Sara Wilson

Champs Cupboard
Megan Rasmussen

Christmas Committee
Jim Brown -chair
Jason & Melanie Decker & family, Zach & Julie Osborne & family, Travis & Katie Schellhorn & family, Travis & Ann Schwartz & family.